Songs of My Summers

Hey guys! I’ve wanted to do this post for a long time and now I’m finally doing it!

Music is a huge part of my life and I’ve realized that especially over the last four years, my high school years, my summers can be remembered by the song (or songs) I listened to the most. And I’d like to share that with you. So here goes!

2013 (Summer between Freshman and Sophomore Year)

Songs: Whatever You’re Doing (Sanctus Real) and Worn (Tenth Avenue North)

June of 2013 started the hardest summer and the hardest two years of my life. This time was even harder than moving in 2010 from my home of nine years to Arkansas.

It was during this period in my life, when I was 15, that a friend of mine when through a very difficult time. And I was with her through it all, as much as I could be. We wrote letters, prayed, and met to talk. Sometimes. God used it in my life to have me learn what Scripture says for myself, to make my own convictions, and to learn to trust Him during the roughest season I’ve ever experienced.

Guilt, anger, fear, sadness, hope, and despair characterized those months of the summer of 2013. I went from one extreme to another, and my mom was there with me through all of it. She stayed up late into the night multiple times to talk me through what was happening. My church prayed for me and for my friend.  My siblings gave me space.

And God gave me a faith and confidence in Him that I’d never had before.

Even when the summer ended, the pain was still there. It’s only been in the last two weeks that I’ve finally put away the last hold of that time in my life and have finally let it all go. These songs were my cry to God on many a night.

 

2014: Summer between Sophomore and Junior Year

Songs: Best Day of My Life (American Authors) and On Top of the World (Imagine Dragons)

This was one of the best summers of my entire life.  It was during this summer that I wrote, directed, produced, edited, and acted in my biggest film attempt to date. The Toga-Wearing Prairie Detectives was a four-part miniseries that my friends and I made during the month of June. It was an amazing time that I’ll never forget, and Best Day of My Life  and On Top of the World fit it perfectly.

 

2015: Summer between Junior and Senior Year

Songs: Journey Off the Map (Lifeway VBS), Follow (Lifeway VBS), and Who We Are (Switchfoot)

Who knew VBS songs for K-6th graders could be so… well, wise?

Journey Off the Map and Follow have been two of my favorite songs ever since I helped at a local church’s VBS this past summer. They are both so full of truth, especially for me as after graduation in five weeks I will be heading off into the great unknown: a high school graduate not going to college. They’ve been the theme songs for my senior year as I’ve fought my fears about the future.

I don’t listen to much Switchfoot. Any, really. Who We Are is a song I’m planning to use in the slideshow for my graduation, that’s how much I love it. I’ve been listening to it for a year and half now and it hasn’t lost any of it’s charm. It’s all about how we don’t have to have our lives figured out right now. We have time. And, most importantly, God has already set the path for our lives. All we need to worry about is obeying Him in the situations He puts in our path.

One thought on “Songs of My Summers

Leave a Reply

