The Grand Deception Part One: Conception

One cold, bleak, February afternoon, three girls hatched an impossible idea.

An idea so bold, so daring, and so fraught with disaster that one would think these girls were crazy. And, so some extent, we are.

Karen, me and Sydney
         Karen, me and Sydney

My sisters, Karen and Sydney, are twelve and a half years old. With five years on them, I’ve got a little more life experience, but that doesn’t mean I don’t turn to them for advice. I do. Often. I could go on and write a whole post about my awesome little (but not short) sisters, but that will have to wait. Right now, I’ve got a story to share.

Our father and brother, the only males in our home, were going to be gone on different trips the week of our mother’s birthday. It would be the first time in over four years that a family member had missed a birthday and the girls and I were feeling it. We wanted to do something for her. She is the best mother, wife, and friend anyone could have.

 

Our Mother
                  Our Mother

It was then that I, Sarah, the Mastermind of All Awesome and Audacious Plans, came up with the ultimate solution.

My two sisters and I would plan a surprise birthday party for our mom.

Awesome, huh?

Boss Lady agrees, it is an awesome idea
       Boss Lady agrees, it is an                  awesome idea

Four years ago, for a birthday milestone I shall not name lest I incur the wrath of said mother, my dad got a couple of my mom’s best friends who live in Missouri to come down here to Arkansas to surprise my mom for her birthday. This was at the end (although we didn’t know that quite yet) of my maternal grandmother’s year-long battle with lymphoma. It couldn’t have come at a more poignant time.

What better way to encourage the new relationships our mom is forming at our new church than with a reprise of that wonderful birthday? Even though you can’t see me, I’m waggling my eyebrows quite wonderfully at the thought.

When I approached my sisters with the idea, they immediately balked. Unfortunately, they do not have the greatest confidence in my abilities when it comes to pulling off things like a surprise party.

blogpostmom

However, I eventually drew them into my plot. Soon, they were just as excited as I was. We began compiling a guest list that ended up increasing all the way up until the day before the party!

We decided to have a soup dinner and I looked for recipes that would yield enough food for the twenty women we ended up inviting.

Who knew that the next four weeks would be full of harried rescheduling, panicked communications, and secret meetings- not to mention covert operations, fake injuries, iPhone hacking, and a *bit* (okay, a LOT) of help from our grandmother.

grannie3

Stay tuned for the next installment!

-Sarah

3 thoughts on “The Grand Deception Part One: Conception

  1. Love it! 🙂 ❤ Can't wait for more. BUT, that post about Sydney and I better come soon! JK, I'd rather hear about what your take was about her party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

