A Follow-Up to “What Does It Take…”

I’ve had a couple of comments after posting my last piece reminding me that my main source of beauty comes from the Lord and my character.

While I’m sorry I didn’t make that as clear as I now wish I had, I sort of did it for a reason. And now I’m going to share it. 😉

I know that inner beauty is the beauty we need to care about most. I know that “charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting” (Proverbs 31). Please don’t misunderstand that.

But my purpose in writing that post was because I know this. 

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard it. The last time was Friday night at that Father Daughter Banquet. And it is so true. That’s why I wrote this post.

When we are more concerned about perfecting our inner beauty, our outer beauty increases.

At least, that’s how I see it. When I am dwelling on the Lord and His ways, I smile more. I find more things in which to give Him glory. When I am concerned about my clothes helping my spiritual brothers in their efforts to be pure and holy, just like I’m trying to be, I am beautiful.

So, yes, I know that inner beauty is what matters.

And I think it shows. Most of the girls I consider truly “beautiful” in my circles have two things in common: they all have the same smile and they are all dedicated to the Lord. They are trusting Him, not makeup, for their value. Do they wear makeup? Yes, they do. But that’s now what makes them beautiful.

When these girls smile, it’s real. When they smile, it’s full of the joy of the Lord.

I know that when I am with them, we will have encouraging and sometimes hard conversations. And that’s how I want to be.

I want my smile to be something that lights up a room- not because it’s as white as Giada deLarentis’, but because people can see the joy and the peace of God in me.

There’s a Christian song that the graduating class of my town sang last year. It’s called Let Them See You in Me.

The chorus goes like this if you aren’t familiar with the song:

Let them see you in me

Let them hear you, when I speak

Let them feel you, when I sing

Let them see you

Let them see you, in me.

and the end of the second verse says this:

I give my life, an offering

Take it all, take everything.

That is beauty. Our God is a holy God. He created beauty. He is beautiful.

And when we obey Him? When we reflect Him?

We’re reflecting His beauty.

Then it’s not us getting the praise- it’s Him.

So, Christian sisters, let people see God in you. Let them see Him by the way you talk, by the way you reach out to others, by the way you obey God even if it looks different.

Let them see God in us.

Let them not see anger, or dissension, or apathy.

Let them see self-sacrifice. Let them see God’s children praying. Let them see God’s children being willing to ask each other the hard questions. Let them see us- the kids God has saved- reading His word, praying with each other on a regular basis, and sharing this Truth with others.

Let them see you in Me. And let that be all they see.

-Sarah

2 thoughts on “A Follow-Up to “What Does It Take…”

  1. Hey! Wow, this is another great post from my awesome sister. 🙂 Because she knows how to put the awesomeness not on her, but on God. Which is a very good quality. I understand what you mean. I really need to be better in this area, because I know that I skip Bible Time sometimes, and that just skip praying at meals because I want to go ahead and read my book, *embarrassed look*. But I know that my older sister has encouraged me to be the Christian that God wants me to be, not that the world wants me to be. God wants me the one to show it on the inside, and the outside. Because He can see all of it.

    Well, Sydney just told me that I’m taking a REALLY long time, and that I should make my comments shorter. But I DO love to be detailed. So for you who like the short comments-

    Love it Sarah! ❤ Really good truth in this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

